RSS Feed

The King of Torts by John Grisham

At the request of one of my students, I sat down to read John Grisham’s The King of Torts. I might mention here, as I did to the student, that I do not like John Grisham. I might also mention that I still don’t like John Grisham. Although The King of Torts was not the worst book I’ve ever read, nor was it very bad in general, John Grisham just doesn’t write my type of books. If I’m in the mood for a John Grisham-like story, I usually turn the TV on for an hour to watch some law/lawyer/cop show.

I do have to admit, however, that I really liked Grisham’s characterization of the main character, Clay Carter III. He starts out as a lowly public defender, whose girlfriend keeps fighting with him because he won’t let her parents control his life and get him more money. He loses some, he wins some. In the end, he loses everything that didn’t matter and wins what he needs most. Awh…

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

