RSS Feed

The Silent Stars Go By by Dan Abnett

This book was surprisingly easy to read. For the most part, I dislike the 11th Doctor. Why? I’m not sure, really. He doesn’t seem to take things as seriously as they should be taken. It’s just part of his personality. I enjoy his lightheartedness most of the time, but occasionally, he gets on my nerve.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book. The Ice Warriors are an adversary not commonly encountered. They were an almost new experience for me and the plot was something I’ve thought about, but never fully imagined.

*Spoilers*

The Doctor finds himself, with the Ponds, on a planet that should be Earth, but is not. Instead, he lands on a planet that is being made to resemble and act like Earth. The Morphans colonized the planet when Earth was no longer suitable for them, deciding to call their new territory: Hereafter. They arrived in the midst of a war – a war between the Ice Warriors who want the planet for their own uses, and Transhumans (made to combat the wrong). In the end, it turns out that the enemy is not whom the sides thought and the Morphans, the Doctor, and the Ice Warriors come to a solution that suits everybody.

2 responses »

  1. I loved this book! I bought the 50th anniversary reissues for my Doctors (Nine, Ten, and Eleven) and I loved Eleven’s best :-). It was the one to capture the characyers’ essences most vividly I found.

    Also, the Christmas special…? Wow.

    Reply
  2. I read all of the reissues and I tend to agree that Eleven’s was the best. I really loved Ten’s and Five’s, but Dan Abnett made me see why people love Matt Smith as Eleven.

    As for the Christmas special – loved it! But why’d it have to end like that? It was so sudden. And scattered!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

