RSS Feed

Doctor Who: Only Human by Gareth Roberts

The Ninth Doctor (played by Christopher Eccleston) is my first Doctor and my 2nd favorite. I love his aggressively snarky attitude, broken emotions, and character development.

Having said the above, I was afraid when I picked up this book that it just wouldn’t be the same; it wouldn’t hold up to Nine’s standards. However, Only Human, written by Gareth Roberts, certainly lived up to my expectations. Within a couple paragraphs, I could see and clearly hear Nine, Jack, and Rose messing with each other in the TARDIS, and within a couple pages, I was hooked. The crude and (not-so-)witty banter was exactly as it had been once before, and the problem at hand seemed a little far-fetched, but reasonable considering that it is Doctor Who.

Only Human did not disappoint me. The only thing I wanted more of was Jack and Das (Neanderthal sent to Bromley, 2000s). Sure, I got a couple journal entries, but I’d have liked to see everything playing out. I really love Captain Jack and I really wanted him to feature in the story. More vivid details when Rose and Nine were touring Osterberg and eliminating Hy-Bractors would have been nice as well.

 

One response »

  1. I just read this a few weeks ago! That’s so cool 🙂 I loved this book. I found myself re-reading dialogue twice so I could relive Jack, Rose, and Nine. And I felt I could picture everything in my head so clearly. Here’s my post about “Only Human” if you want to go there: http://infernalimagination.wordpress.com/2013/09/15/2-only-human-by-gareth-roberts/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

