RSS Feed

Players by Terrance Dicks

As you probably know by now, I’m a nerd…and a big part of being a nerd (for me) is Doctor Who. As such, I set myself the task to read all of the 50th Anniversary books by the Christmas regeneration special. Good news: I’m right on track.

I found this book, Players, to be really fascinating. It took real history – Winston Churchill, Hitler, the Boer War, WWI/WWII – and fictionalised it. Frankly, it enlightened me as I’d never heard of the Boer War, and it kind of rekindled my passion for history. In general, I’m not a big fan of 20th century history. I don’t like flamethrowers. That last remark isn’t so irrelevant if you think about it. But Players, by Terrance Dicks, kind of made me see the romance and mystery of that time period.

Before I started the 6th Doctor’s representative story, I was starting to become bored with the 50th Anniversary lineup. Now, however, I’m hopeful this kind of writing will continue with the 7th Doctor in Remembrance of the Daleks by Ben Aaronovitch.

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

