RSS Feed

Elantris by Brandon Sanderson

I’d always meant to read Brandon Sanderson. Well, not always, but for the last three years. Mistborn was introduced to me by a college friend. So I bought it. Then, it stood on my bookshelf for three years. It’s still standing there.

I picked up Elantris a few months ago when I was wandering around Barnes and Noble. Sanderson’s name was in my mind because I had recently heard about a new book set to come out, SteelheartElantris seemed like it was right up my alley. I desperately wanted to read a fantasy, but didn’t want to commit myself to a 30-book series (some exaggeration intended). I began reading a little over a month ago, and even though Orson Scott Card had a lot of great things to say about the book, I wasn’t impressed. In fact, I wanted for 300 pages, wavering on the brink of setting the book down for good, to finally be hooked.

That being said, I greatly enjoyed the final 300 pages. There were so many twists and turns, and *spoiler alert* at the very end when I was actually sure all was lost, and was attempting to give up hope, just as Galladon was, Raoden saved the day. I actually felt a little lost when the book ended. I haven’t experienced that since January when I read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander. *Mental note* I need to start that series again.

2 responses »

  1. Outlander is amazing! Pretty sure the last book comes out in March 2014. What did you think of the ending of “An Echo in the Bone”? I could have killed Gabaldon for that cliffhanger!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

