RSS Feed

Private by Kate Brian

I read most of the Private series by Kate Brian when I was in high school and even started her spin-off series, Privilege, when I was in college.  Now that I’m teaching the 8th grade, I’m working on a classroom library and struggling to find “girl power” books for it.  I remembered Private and decided to reread it to find out if it belonged on the shelf in B125.

It only took me two days to read and I was surprised by how much I still liked the book.  I remember reading it and totally identifying with Reed Brennan – or at least, Reed Brennan prior to Easton Academy.  I also remember desperately wanting her life.  I thought that my views would have changed in 4+ years, and they definitely have, but I still became wrapped up in the plot and the characters – I never realized just how bullish Noelle Lange was until a couple of days ago!

Anyway, I think I like this series so much because it has just the right amount of privileged society without going all Gossip Girl on you.  Reed Brennan as main character really keeps that from happening.

If you like “girl power” books, I suggest checking out Kate Brian’s largest series; if you don’t, then just leave it be.  It’s truly one of those books that cater to a specific type of genre lover.

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

