RSS Feed

The Giver by Lois Lowry

I’ve heard numerous things about The Giver over the course of my 23 years. But I’ve never been persuaded enough to read it. I first discovered it in the library at my elementary school. It was one of those books that “You must read” if you’re a reader, and so I never wished to read it.

So why did I finally read it?

I have to teach it. Thankfully, it’s not one of those awful books that are forced down students’ throats. In fact, I kind of liked it. I’m not saying it was brilliant, but it was definitely different and startling.

The themes, plot, and characterization reminded me a lot of Divergent, The Hunger Games, and other YA dystopian novels. It also reminded me of the 90s movie version of Merlin…probably because I envisioned the old Giver as the old Merlin who tells the audience the tale of Arthur and the beginning of a civilized land.

If I had to rate Lois Lowry’s most famous work, I’d give it a 3 out of 5…maybe a 3.5 in some aspects, especially the ending. I didn’t see it coming.

4 responses »

  1. Hmmm. I haven’t read this one yet (just read the blurb on Amazon) and I like it when the ending is a surprise. Maybe I will check it out.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Interesting. I really loved The Giver when I read it. Of course, I read it for the first time when I was in the 3rd grade, so it is permanently tied to my childhood. I felt it was somehow better than the Hunger Games (which I am a big fan of) and possibly darker. After all, The Giver is presented as a perfect society which I think makes the entire book all the more disturbing.

    Reply
    • I definitely agree that The Giver is darker. After all, the Capitol never hides what it’s doing from its citizens, but the community in The Giver does. I think I equated The Giver with The Hunger Games because many utopian-described countries turn out to be dystopias. One could also equate The Giver with 1984 in this regard. Really, they’re very much the same…hmmm. Never really thought about that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

