RSS Feed

Highlander Betrayed by Laurin Wittig

Several weeks ago, I was hit with an unusual craving – a craving for the supernatural that focused its sights on Scotland and sparked a wonderfully realistic romance.  It’s unusual because it was not a craving for food, but for a certain plot, and that rarely happens to me.  I pride myself on being able to pick up anything, anywhere, and nearly always being able to melt into the plot.  At this point, I desperately wanted to re-read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, but I had neither the time nor the patience for such a slow (but delicious) plot and large book.  I wanted a short book with a fast pace and a slow romance.

I spent days culling through the Kindle store.

I finally found Laurin Wittig’s Highlander Betrayed.  The reviews were so-so and after days of searching, I was desperate.  I’m happy to say that I picked the right book.

Rowan and Nicholas’ relationship was so rocky and fraught with danger that it instantly held me captivated.  His orders to find the Highland Targe for the King of England and her destiny to protect it, her clan, and the rest of the Highlands from harm made for a delicious plot with a lot of adventure and a romance that kept me on the edge of my seat.  I felt several times that my hopes for the pair would be disappointed.

Because this book was exactly what I wanted when I wanted it, the plot, the characters, and the pace suited me perfectly.  In general, this is not a book that I would pick up and highly enjoy.  In fact, I’ll most likely (almost most definitely) never pick it up again.  Not because it was written poorly or didn’t capture my attention, but because I’m rarely in the mood for such books and tend to dislike them when I’m not in the mood to read them.

Leave a Reply

PCTELA News

Communicate. Collaborate. Create. Repeat.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

The Slug Life

The Official Blog for the Central Florida Slug Club

Heughan's Heughligans

A Sam Heughan Fan Community

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

